
 

 

ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION 

 

July 2020 Minutes 

 

 

On July 17, 2020, the Arkansas State Claims Commission (the “Claims Commission”) held 

hearings in the Claims Commission Hearing Room, 101 East Capitol Avenue, Suite 410, Little 

Rock, Arkansas. 

 

Dexter Booth, Commissioner 

Paul Morris, Chair Commissioner 

Sylvester Smith, Commissioner 

 

Birch Tree Communities, Inc. v. Arkansas Division of Correction, Claim No. 190636. 

Claimant filed its claim seeking damages related to Respondent’s full grease traps, which allowed 

sewage to overflow into Claimant’s building. At the virtual hearing on the motion to dismiss, Ralph 

Ohm appeared on behalf of Claimant. Thomas Burns represented Respondent. Based on the 

pleadings, the argument of the parties, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission denied 

Respondent’s motion to dismiss. 

 

Brenda Miner v. Arkansas Tech University, Claim No. 180951. Claimant filed her claim 

seeking damages related to Respondent’s breach of its contract with the Russellville Public School 

District. At the virtual hearing on Claimant’s motion to compel discovery, Jon R. Sanford 

represented Claimant. Thomas W. Pennington appeared on behalf of Respondent. Following the 

hearing, Respondent submitted a proposed exemplar document that it would produce to Claimant, 

but Claimant stated that it was not adequate. However, based on the pleadings, the argument of 

the parties, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission found Respondent’s proposal to be 

sufficient and directed Respondent to produce the documents within ten business days. Given the 

ruling, the Claims Commission granted Claimant’s motion to compel in part. 

 

Lorraine Hatcher v. Arkansas Department of Human Services, Claim No. 200668. 

Claimant filed her claim seeking $1,125.00 in damages based upon Respondent’s failure to pay 

Claimant the pay increase associated with her promotion. At the hearing, Claimant was represented 

by Pamela Perry. Shanice Johnson appeared on behalf of Respondent. At the beginning of the 

hearing, the parties notified the Claims Commission of their agreement that Claimant is owed 

$848.64 in unpaid wages. Based on the pleadings, testimony and evidence presented, the argument 

of the parties, and the law of Arkansas, the Claims Commission found that Claimant is entitled to 

double the wages due under Ark. Code Ann. § 11-4-405, as well as $350.00 in attorney’s fees 

under Ark. Code Ann. § 16-22-308, for a total award of $2,047.28. 

 

This completed all of the business on the July 2020 Claims Commission docket. 

 

       
      __________________________________ 

Kathryn Irby, Director 

 

Date: September 4, 2020 


