ARKANSAS STATE CLAIMS COMMISSION

June 2021 Minutes

The Arkansas State Claims Commission (the "Claims Commission") held hearings on June 17, 2021. These hearings were held via Zoom. The following members of the Claims Commission were present:

Courtney Baird Dexter Booth Henry Kinslow, chair

The following claims were heard:

Jean Miller and Canon Donham v. Arkansas State Police, Claim No. 201024. Claimants filed this claim against Respondent based upon the actions of a trooper. At the hearing on Respondent's motion to dismiss, Claimants did not appear. Respondent was represented by Mary Claire McLaurin. Based upon Respondent's failure to appear, Respondent orally moved to dismiss the claim for failure to prosecute. The Claims Commission unanimously granted the motion and DISMISSED the claim without prejudice for failure to prosecute.

Daphane Lathrop v. Arkansas Department of Transportation, Claim No. 200356. Claimant filed her claim seeking damages related to injuries suffered and property damage incurred by Claimant as a result of a hydroplaning accident on a state highways. At the hearing, Claimant proceeded *pro se*, and Respondent was represented by Steven W. Abed. Based on the pleadings, testimony, argument of the parties, and the law of the State of Arkansas, the Claims Commission DENIED and DISMISSED Claimant's claim.

Following the hearings, commissioner Paul Morris joined the Zoom call for the consideration of other agency business. Commissioner Sylvester Smith was unable to join the Zoom call.

The Claims Commission discussed the current guidelines provided by the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) regarding masks, as well as the Arkansas state courts' adoption of these guidelines. Upon a motion by Commissioner Morris, which was seconded by both Commissioner Baird and Commissioner Booth, the Claims Commission voted unanimously to adopt ADH's guidelines—as they read currently, as well as any updated guidelines that may be released in the future—regarding masks.

This completed all of the business on the June 2021 Claims Commission docket.

Kathryn Irby, Director

Date: July 14, 2021